The City That Stole My Heart – Venice, Italy

IMG_7388

“Where are you from?”

“America, Philadelphia to be exact.”

“Oh Philadelphia, like the cheese!”

We have had this conversation with multiple Europeans in different countries during our trip. The first time we had it was in Prague at a Burger King (yeah I know, but we had just gotten off a bus and were starving!) the cashier asked where I was from and when I answered he pointed to the fried Philadelphia cream cheese balls they served. Ben and I get a kick out of it every time.

Venice stole my heart. The seconds before walking through the doors of the train station out into the city my heart raced and images I had seen on Google flashed through my mind. I was going to be there, in front of the canals, witnessing these photographs I have seen so many times in person. I was going to be able to touch the buildings and hear the water. The minute I walked through those doors I gasped. It was everything I pictured it to be and more. The numerous tourists that usually annoy me and add an unwanted layer to an experience I want to enjoy disappeared and all I could feel was the hot sun on my skin and my eyes grow wide as I scanned the scene in front of me. IMG_7389

I grabbed Ben quickly and ran to the top of a large bridge with many people taking pictures. I swerved in between people, unable to get to the top fast enough. Out of breath and now waiting for Ben to catch up I stared down the Grand Canal and watched the boats, gondolas, and tourists moving around this city on water. After taking our pictures and soaking in the view we made our way down the cobblestone allies and got lost on the island.

When people say that Venice is easy to get lost in, they are not lying. There are so many turns and little allies that it feels like a maze when walking through. We didn’t care though, we just wanted to explore and see what we came across. Crossing bridges and wandering down dead-end streets I was impressed we were able to find our way back to the Grand Canal and main points on of the island.

To get around the different islands of Venice a water bus is offered. We spent a lot of time on these water buses due to getting on the wrong one multiple times and going in the wrong direction others. Our desired destination was Murano, the glassblowing island. I’m IMG_7375sure you’ve seen the Murano glass jewelry and vases around in little gift shops and on the boardwalk. When we finally arrived at the island we found everything to be closed (since it was a Sunday and things close at 6 pm in Europe) so we were on what felt like a deserted island. It was peaceful and absolutely beautiful as we watched the sun set over the water. I’m glad to say that we were able to make it back to the island the next morning before catching our bus to Rome.

I wish we had stayed longer in Venice, one day was definitely not long enough. I am starting to realize just how crazy we are going on this trip and having it all planned out. In the past 2 weeks we have visited 7 different cities in 4 different countries. It’s really starting to take a toll on us, especially with the overnight transportation and waiting around for check-ins and buses. Even when I’m exhausted though all I think about is 20 years down the road from now I’m going to look back at this trip and say “One time in college I backpacked around Europe for a month and saw everything I dreamed of seeing and more.”
IMG_7380

From Europe With Love

xoxo

Leave a comment